Hackers targeting aquarium related websites?

Late last year, the well respected British aquarium magazine, PracticalFishkeeping had their website hacked.

Today, it seems as if popular marine aquarium website, Reef Builders has become a victim of hacking too. Although not “hacked” in terms of information being stolen (as far as I know), but the site seems to be affected by ‘malware’.

Reefbuilders.com issue

Not cool.

I hope Jake and Ryan and the rest of the ReefBuilders team get the issue resolved. You can always get around the issue by subscribing to their RSS feed therefore skirting around ‘hack’ but still getting the content the delivered to your virtual doorstep.

While I was typing this I got a message from @JasonPG via twitter with regards to sites being hacked:

I’ve seen that on a few reefing sites lately … some kind of worm must be going around.

Time to go ensure everything is closed up nice and tight here on nanoreefblog.com, not sure they make a WEW (Website Eating Worm) treatment just yet.



6 Responses

I’m getting a similar message in Google’s Chrome browser. The first time it happened was last night. I sent Ryan a message about it. Funny thing is I don’t see the message in the office or on other browsers.

03.04.10

Hi Jeff,

You might find your other browsers have cached the older versions of the site. Nothing showed up in Firefox for me but once I headed over to the site in Safari, I got the warning. Another ‘infected’ website did the same thing, again using the same system, and Firefox only showed the warning 24hours later. Biggest concern is for those users on Windows based systems – as a test I visited an infected site and the web browser happy downloaded an unknown .exe file. Mac users don’t need to be as concerned as .exe files are of no use.

Getting rid of the malware isn’t too difficult, it’s just time consuming to find the issue, but once located, it’s quick and simple to fix.

03.04.10

Here’s a little blurb on the site Safari was red flagging when I went to reefbuilders.com:

http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?storyid=8350&rss

03.04.10

Things like that makes me freak out! I saw some of those infected site over the last weeks and told myself I should protect my site a little more. After reading your post, I decided to take immediate action.

I found this about protecting wordpress blogs:
http://johnnasta.com/blog/2009/wordpress/wordpress-security-protecting-against-hackers/

hope that can help…. and good luck ;)

03.04.10

Chrome has the warning too. I see you use a mac, so you should be fine.

03.04.10

Yesterday I got a ‘virus’ warning on windows.

Leave Your Response

* Name, Email, Comment are Required

Related Posts


Translator

English flagItalian flagKorean flagChinese (Simplified) flagPortuguese flagGerman flagFrench flagSpanish flagJapanese flagRussian flagDutch flagCzech flagCroatian flagDanish flagFinnish flagPolish flagSwedish flagNorwegian flagLatvian flagSerbian flagSlovak flagSlovenian flagUkrainian flagAlbanian flagGalician flagMaltese flagTurkish flagBelarus flag

Subscription Options:



TheReefTank
proudly awards
this site as
Recommended Reading
Please vote for it
in the community!





Vote for us!